The Scandis

All things Scandinavia

The Øresund Bridge 

The Øresund or Öresund Bridge (in Danish: Øresundsbroen; in Swedish: Öresundsbron; hybrid name: Øresundsbron) is an 8 kilometres combined railway and motorway bridge that runs from Sweden to Denmark across the Öresund strait. Designed by the Danish engineering firm COWI, and constructed between 1995 and 2000, it is the longest combined road and rail bridge in Europe and connects two major metropolitan areas: Copenhagen, the Danish capital city, and the Swedish city of Malmö. The Öresund Bridge gave its name to the Nordic noir television series The Bridge, as the series was set in the region around the bridge.




The flag of Jutland: Den Jydske Fane 

Jutland has its own (although unofficial) flag thanks to visual artist Per Kramer (1942-2010), who designed it in 1975. Kramer traveled around Jutland to test the flag in different landscapes: he was at the sanded church (Tilsandede Kirke) in Skagen, in Gjern Bakker and Himmelbjerget hills, at the Kalø Castle ruins, at the Aarhus Cathedral, at the sand dunes of the North Sea as well as the middle Jutland heather. The two blue stripes illustrate the sea around Jutland, the red-brown symbolize the heather of the heath, and the green stands for the color of the forests. The cross-sword and the serration are the symbolic description of the Jutlandic fighting spirit. It is with full intention that Per Kramer spells "Jydske" with "d", instead of the correct spelling "Jyske" because in his opinion "this is where past and present meet". According to Per Kramer, the Jutland flag should rise from a barked hazel stick, with a dead crow at the top.

Colors palette: 293 blue (the sea around Jutland), 356 green (the green forests), 1805 reddish brown (heather heath)


The place where you can find all interesting products (clothing, design, food...), reviews (books, movies, TV series...), information (tourism, work, schooling) and various advice related to the Scandinavian nations:

Denmark, Faroe Islands, Finland, Greenland, Iceland, Norway, Sweden